1940s, Soups & stews
Leave a Comment

1940s Potato Leek Soup

Potato Leek Soup

I love potato soups and I know back on the mainland, it’s that chilly time of year when soup is the only thing that makes you feel warm again.  Well, that and bourbon. Even though it’s in the 80s here, I still am craving soup.

From the 1940 edition of 250 Delicious Soups by the Culinary Arts Institute, I made Potato Leek Soup.  I found the original recipe to be a bit thin, and made quite a few changes.

Potato Leek Soup:

3 tablespoons fat (I used butter)
1 Cup Sliced Leeks (I used 4 Cups)
4 Cups of cold water
1 bay leaf (I used 4)
2 tablespoons chili sauce or catchup (I used 1 tablespoon of Tabasco)
2 Medium potatoes, diced (I used 5)
1/2 small onion grated
1/4 cup chopped celery (I used about 1/2 cup)
2 tablespoons minced parsley
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 Cup Milk (I used a half cup)
1-2 tablespoons of Better Than Bouillon vegetable or chicken base (my addition to recipe and I nixed the salt mentioned above. Use whatever bouillon you have on hand.)

Melt fat, add leeks but do not brown; add water, bay leaf and chili sauce. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Add potatoes, onion, celery, parsley, salt and pepper. Cover and cook until potatoes are soft. Add milk and heat to boiling. Serve with croutons. Makes 4 portions.”

Here’s my version of the directions:
Melt fat, add leeks but do not brown; add water, bouillon, bay leaf and chili sauce. cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Add potatoes, onion, celery, parsley, and pepper. Cook until potatoes are soft. With an immersion blender, blend about one-quarter of the soup to create a creamy consistency. Add milk and heat to boiling. Makes 4 portions.

 
~~~~~~~~~
I added tabasco, but you do whatever your sassy, spicy heart desires.  It’s delicious with the extra spice but really fantastic without it.  That’s what you call a win-win.

The addition of milk isn’t necessary because the blending made it pretty creamy, but I added a reduced amount. I’m not sure why, I just did. Let’s just go with it!

The Better Than Bouillon added a little boost of flavor, and if you can find it in your local grocery, I think it’s well worth it. A little goes a long way and the jar lasts forever, it seems. I used chicken base because I was out of vegetable base, but either one would be delicious in this recipe.

20131127-141343.jpg

Oh, and those rolls on the side?  Pretzel rolls.  They’re evil in the best way possible.  The brand is Sister Schubert’s and you can find them in the frozen food section.  These are my “splurge” food – I can’t resist them.  Try them and you too will be addicted.  I’m sorry and you’re welcome.

Leave a comment